RSS

Du’a for worry, depression and grief.

18 Mar

1. The Prophet (sal Allahu alaihi wa sallam) has always prayed that he is removed from any sadness, by saying

“Allahuma inni ‘auzubika minal hammi wal hazan, wa ‘auzubika milal ajzi wal kasal, wa ‘auzubika minal jubni wal bukh, wa ‘auzubika minal ghalabatiddiini wa qahri rijal.”

(O Allah, I seek refuge in You from worry and grief, from helplessness and laziness, from cowardice and stinginess, and from overpowering of debt and from oppression of men.)

2. And this following du’a is narrated by the Prophet (sal Allahu alaihi wa sallam) as one of the “Da’waat al Makroob“, the supplications of the distressed:

“Allahumma rahmataka arju fala takilni ila nafsi tarfata ‘aynin wa aslih li sha’ni kullahu la ilaha ila anta.”

(O Allah, it is Your mercy that I hope for, so do not leave me in charge of my affairs even for a blink of an eye, and rectify for me all of my affairs. None has the right to be worshiped except You.)

3. And…

The following saheeh hadeeth as reported by Imaam Ahmad:
The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: ‘There is nobody who is afflicted with distress or grief and who says– :

“Allaahumma inni ‘abduka wa ibn ‘abdika wa ibn amatika, naasiyati bi yadika maadin fiyya hukmuka ‘adlun fiyya qadaa’uka, as’aluka bi kulli ismin huwa laka sammayta bihi nafsaka aw ‘allamtahu ahadan min khalqika aw anzaltahu fi kitaabika aw asta’tharta bihi fi ‘ilmi al-ghaybi ‘indaka an taj’al al-Qur’aana rabee’a qalbi wa noor sadri wa jilaa’a huzni wa dhihaaba hammi.’

(O Allaah, I am Your slave, son of Your slave, son of Your maidservant, my forelock is in Your hand, Your command over me is ever executed and Your decree over me is just. I ask You by every name belonging to You which You have named Yourself with, or which you revealed in Your Book, or which You taught to any of Your creation, or which You have preserved in the knowledge of the Unseen with You, that You make the Qur’aan the life of my heart and the light of my breast, and a departure for my sorrow and a release for my anxiety.)

– but Allaah will take away his distress and grief, and replace it with ease.’ He was asked, ‘O Messenger of Allaah, should we not learn it?’ He said, ‘Of course, whoever hears it should learn it.’

 

2 responses to “Du’a for worry, depression and grief.

  1. Waqas

    January 20, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    Can these du’a’s be posted in Arabic? I find them difficult to read.

     
  2. syedatherali

    March 3, 2013 at 12:03 am

    MashaAllah very useful n faithfull due in our daily needy life,

    jazacAllah khairn.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

